US Elite Men’s Team named for ’09 Cyclo-Cross World Championships
  June 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Saturday, January 17, 2009

US Elite Men’s Team named for ’09 Cyclo-Cross World Championships

by VeloNation Press at 9:57 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Press Release
USA Cycling announced the five athletes that were nominated to represent the United States in the elite men's category at the 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships on Feb. 1 in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

Ryan Trebon (Kona), Tim Johnson ( and Jeremy Powers ( all earned automatic nominations to the team as the top three Americans in the UCI rankings.

Trebon (20th) and Powers (27th) will head to the Netherlands to contest the event. Johnson, ranked 22nd in the world, has declined his nomination and will not compete.

In addition to the automatic selections, USA Cycling also approved two discretionary picks to the squad - Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.) and Matt Shriver (Salt Lake City, Utah). Both athletes were selected based on promising performances in international events this season.

2009 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships
Hoogerheide, Netherlands
January 31-February 1

U.S. Team:

Elite Men
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.)
*Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.)
Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass.)
Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.)
Matt Shriver (Salt Lake City, Utah)
*declined invitation - will not compete

Elite Women
Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Rachel Lloyd (Fairfax, Calif.)
Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa.)
Sue Butler (Portland, Ore.)

U23 Men
Nick Weighall (Millcreek, Wash.)
Nicholas Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Daniel Summerhill (Englewood, Colo.)
Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.)
Will Dugan (Burlington, Vt.)

Junior Men
Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash.)
Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.)
Eric Emsky (Fall City, Wash.)
Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan.)

For more information visit

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC