February 21, 2024 Login  

Who will wear bib number one in the Giro?
Last Post 04/16/2010 07:34 PM by Alexandra Edge. 2 Replies.
Printer Friendly
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages


03/30/2010 07:07 PM
Any ideas? As in 2007 and 2009, the 2010 Giro will not have its reigning champion in the field. In 2007, bib number one went to the reigning world champion, Paolo Bettini. The current world champion Cadel Evans is going to ride the Giro (or, at least, he said as much before BMC got a Tour invite), so that's one option. In 2009, bib number one went to the most senior former Giro winner in the field. Presumably, that will again be Stefano Garzelli this year. Another idea is to give it to the highest finisher from last year's race in this year's - that will almost certainly be Franco Pellizotti. The most recent Giro winner in this year's field is Ivan Basso.

So what do you think?


04/01/2010 11:48 AM
I think Cadel is a safe bet...then would be Garzelli since he's actually a former winner. They could just start with 11 - they would make Spinal Tap proud! (had to see the movie...)


04/16/2010 07:34 PM
Hah, neat idea. There should be a preliminary start list for the Giro relatively soon. I'm itching for it!
You are not authorized to post a reply.

Active Forums 4.1

Latest Forum Posts
Anyone have fun bike projects going? posted in The Coffee Shop

so quiet posted in The Coffee Shop

Hot Stove League posted in Professional Racing

Rohan Dennis charged in death of his wife posted in Professional Racing

Parc des Princes Veldrome posted in Professional Racing

The new dope - marine worms posted in The Dark Side

No articles match criteria.
  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC