Ten WorldTour teams said to be riding 2013 Tour de San Luis, Boonen and Nibali listed
  June 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Ten WorldTour teams said to be riding 2013 Tour de San Luis, Boonen and Nibali listed

by VeloNation Press at 7:45 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Stage details confirmed for Argentinean stage opener

Tom BoonenJust under two months remain until the start of the Tour de San Luis and it appears that a strong field will be in place for the 2013 edition.

According to Wielerland, the organisers have confirmed the presence of ten WorldTour teams, double the number of last year. Tom Boonen is said to lead Omega Pharma Quick Step, one year after winning the final stage. Vincenzo Nibali is mentioned as the likely captain of Astana, while Movistar, Lampre – Merida, BMC Racing Team, Katusha and Cannondale are also listed. That leaves three ProTeams left to be named.

In addition to that, Bardiani - CSF Inox, Androni - Venezuela, Caja Rural, Vini Fantini, United Healthcare Presented by Maxxis, CCC Polsat Polkowice plus the Argentine continental teams Buenos Aires province and San Luis Somos Todos are announced.

Levi Leipheimer won last year’s race, while he, Boonen, Alberto Contador, Elia Viviani and Francesco Chicchi won stages. Contador later lost those victories when he was sanctioned by the Court of Arbitration for Sport in relation to his 2010 Tour positive.

The 2.1- ranked event will begin on January 21st with a 165 kilometre stage from San Luis to Villa Mercedes.

Tour de San Luis 2013:

January 21, stage 1 - San Luis to Villa Mercedes, 165km
January 22, stage 2 – Tilisarao to Terraza del Portezuelo, 187km
January 23, stage 3 - La Punta to Mirador Potrero / La Punta, 180km
January 24, stage 4 - San Luis to San Luis (ITT) 19.5km
January 25, stage 5 - Juana Koslay to La Carolina, 185km
January 26, stage 6 – Quines to Merlo, 131km
January 27, stage 7 - San Luis to San Luis, 160km


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC