Lampre's Gavazzi takes sprint in Sardegna
  May 27, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Lampre's Gavazzi takes sprint in Sardegna

by Bjorn Haake at 12:23 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre-Farnese Vini) sprinted to victory in the first stage of the Giro di Sardegna, ahead of Oscar Gatto and Giovanni Visconti (both ISD-Neri). Gavazzi took over the leader's jersey.

Gatto launched the sprint for Visconti, but it didn't work out in the end. "I wanted to launch Giovanni, but Gavazzi was too strong," Gatto said after the finish. "I followed Failli when he went with 600m to go. With a little more than 400m before the finish, I jumped hard, with Visconti on my wheel. I felt great, and noticed the group strung out behind us."

The move almost worked. "Gavazzi passed in the final 50m - it was good by him to take advantage of our work. Visconti is already feeling better than in the GP Laigueglia, but still didn't quite have it today. "I was on Oscar's wheel and when he went I followed him," Visconti said. "But I couldn't get past him. I am currently not on top form and my legs are not the best, but I am certain that in this stage race I will improve a lot."

Gavazzi and Lampre teammate Daniele Pietropolli were recently beaten by Francesco Ginnani in the Trofeo Laigueglia. This time, Gavazzi made sure it was the pair of another team to end up in the wrong podium spots.

The race, which was rather slow at an average speed of 33,687 km/h, was marked by a long break from Simon Clark, Didac Ortega, Freddy Bichot, Giairo Ermeti and Leonardo Giordani. The break formed after only two kilometers of racing and was brought back 30km from the line. Several counters followed but nobody was able to prevent the bunch sprint.

Results stage one

1. Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre – Farnese Vini) km 144,2 in 4h16'50”, avg 33,687 km/h;
2. Oscar Gatto (Isd – Neri);
3. Giovanni Visconti (Isd – Neri);
4. Francesco Failli (Acqua & Sapone);
5. Przemyslaw Niemec (Miche);
6. Damiano Caruso (De Rosa – Stac Plastic);
7. Giampaolo Caruso (Ceramica Flaminia);
8. Luca Mazzanti (Team Katusha);
9. Massimi Giunti (Androni Giocattoli);
10. Massimiliano Gentili (Ceramica Flaminia).


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC