Tony Martin is the latest addition to an impressive Amstel Curacao Race field
  July 15, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Tony Martin is the latest addition to an impressive Amstel Curacao Race field

by Shane Stokes at 5:26 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Will join Schleck brothers and others in late-season event

Tony MartinHTC Columbia Tony Martin has been confirmed as joining a number of other big name stars who will head to Curacao and compete in the season-ending race there.

The 25 year old German talent will travel there after what as a very solid season. He won time trials at the Tour de Suisse and Tour of California, took the TT stage and overall victory in the Eneco Tour, and ran Fabian Cancellara close in time trials in the Tour de France. He was also third in the world road race championship time trial in Melbourne, despite suffering a puncture.

Martin joins a number of previously-confirmed names, including Tour de France runner-up Andy Schleck, his brother Frank and Saxo Bank team-mate Jakob Fuglsang, Jurgen van den Broeck (Omega Pharma Lotto), Tour green jersey winner Alessandro Petacchi and Danilo Hondo (both Lampre-Farnese Vini).

Others who have been signed up include Niki Terpstra (Milram), Koos Moerenhout, Grischa Niermann and Bauke Mollema (Rabobank), Marc de Maar (UnitedHealthcare-Maxxis) and Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil). Robert Gesink (Rabobank) is also listed to ride, but may well miss the race after the sad death of his father.

Martin’s participation will enhance the race, but will also have a strategic purpose too. “For tourism in Curacao, Germany is an important market,” said race organiser Leo Van Vliet, according to “That’s why we have contracted a rider like Martin, so that we can get the necessary exposure in Germany. We are working closely with the tourism office in this way.

The race brings the sport to the island while also giving the riders a chance to enjoy some late-season sunshine. It is well known for its images of riders basking in the sun and swimming with dolphins. Alberto Contador won in 2009 and 2007, while Andy Schleck was first to the line in 2008.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC