Dennis, Avery and Lapthorne sign with Pegasus Sports
  June 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Dennis, Avery and Lapthorne sign with Pegasus Sports

by Shane Stokes at 7:18 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Three additions to Australian Pro Continental team

Rohan DennisThe as-yet unnamed team run by Pegasus Sports has confirmed that it has signed three more promising riders, with the additions all coming from the southern hemisphere.

The trio are the Australians Rohan Dennis and Darren Lapthorne, as well as the Kiwi Clinton Avery. They join a number of big-name riders such as Robbie McEwen on the squad, which is vying to be the first Australian team to ride the Tour de France, and also the first to land a ProTeam licence.

“I’m excited to welcome these three emerging talents to the Pegasus team,” said Pegasus Sports CEO Chris White, who believes they will be strong additions. “Each brings with him a special quality and lots of promise, so I’m looking forward to seeing these guys develop to their full potential. I know that our supportive team environment is the right place for this to happen.”

Former Australian road race champion Lapthorne was reported as signing for the team earlier this week when his general manager from 2009 and 2010, John Herety, confirmed to VeloNation that he was leaving Rapha-Condor-Sharp to sign for the team. He took the national title three years ago with a well-timed solo attack in Ballarat, and picked up a stage victory in the Tour de Beauce two years later.

Twenty-year old Dennis is the youngest of the three riders signed, and looks set for a big future. He picked up a world title this year when he and his Australian team-mates won the team pursuit, and also took two stages plus the overall victory in the Tour of Geelong.

The Team Jayco-Skins rider got the season off to a fine start when he won the Australian title for under 23 riders in the nationals time trial. He crossed over to the track to pick up that gold medal, and was also fifth in the individual pursuit. He ended the year in fine form when he was fifth in the under 23 time trial at the world road race championships.

Avery is two years older and competed this year as a stagiaire with Team RadioShack. The former national MTB champion and double under 23 title holder on the road took a dozen podium places this season. These included victories in the Vlaamse Pijl Harelbeke and the GP Stad Roeselare in Belgium, and highlight his ability.

The Pegasus Sports team previously announced it had signed McEwen. Other confirmed names include Christian Knees (Milram), Daryl Impey (RadioShack), Serguei Klimov (Team Katusha), Ben Day (Pegasus Racing) and the Garmin Transitions trio of Svein Tuft, Robbie Hunter and Trent Lowe. It will make its debut in the Santos Tour Down Under; at some point between now and then, the title sponsor will be announced.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC